Remote Control – Nnedi Okorafor

Releases: 01.19.2021.

Synopsis: The day Fatima forgot her name, Death paid a visit. From hereon in she would be known as Sankofa­­–a name that meant nothing to anyone but her, the only tie to her family and her past.

Her touch is death, and with a glance a town can fall. And she walks–alone, except for her fox companion–searching for the object that came from the sky and gave itself to her when the meteors fell and when she was yet unchanged; searching for answers.

But is there a greater purpose for Sankofa, now that Death is her constant companion?

Continue reading “Remote Control – Nnedi Okorafor”

Each of Us a Desert – Mark Oshiro

Synopsis: Xochital is destined to wander the desert alone, speaking her troubled village’s stories into its arid winds. Her only companions are the blessed stars above and enimagic lines of poetry magically strewn across dusty dunes.

Her one desire: to share her heart with a kindred spirit.

One night, Xo’s wish is granted—in the form of Emilia, the cold and beautiful daughter of the town’s murderous mayor. But when the two set out on a magical journey across the desert, they find their hearts could be a match… if only they can survive the nightmare-like terrors that arise when the sun goes down.

Continue reading “Each of Us a Desert – Mark Oshiro”

Top Reads of 2020!

BEHOLD, my Top Books Read in 2020 for your skull meat, socially distanced, of course.

When it feels like the year lasts approximately 4237 months, yet is also one discombobulated blur? WHAT EVEN IS CONCENTRATION?!?

We are all struggling with a collective trauma & that is this pandemic.

Phew.

Books, though? They helped me SURVIVE. Escapism is more important than ever. Thank fuck for books & the worlds they helped us disappear to (when we managed to focus during this shit show!)

If you ask me today, the books above would probably be my top 5 favorites of the year. Tomorrow? It may change. That’s because I’ve read some fucking *incredible* books this year & they each deserve a spot! One thing is for certain though, The House in the Cerulean Sea is the book hero that 2020 needed. It felt like home.

Oof.

As always, I simplified the list by removing authors that had books appear multiple times by choosing my absolute favorite. These books received a resounding 5 stars from me! I’ve raved, I’ve gushed, I’ve flailed over them & they have all made this year suck just a wee bit less.

::throws confetti into the void::

Continue reading “Top Reads of 2020!”

Top 20 of 2020: Albums

It’s a well-documented fact that 2020 has been on another fucking level ::slowly breathes out through lips:: I mean.. dang.

But it wasn’t all bad! Besides books, there were also some insanely badass album releases this year to help momentarily.

Like which ones?

Well, I’m glad you asked!

Continue reading “Top 20 of 2020: Albums”

Top 20 of 2020: TV

With the year being ::gestures at a flaming pile of shit:: I’ve probably escaped into more tv than ever before! I’m pretty sure Netflix has given up on asking me if I’m still watching, because OF COURSE I AM GODDAMNIT! WHERE ELSE WOULD I BE?!

Luckily, there was plenty of new shows that came out this year, as well as returning favorites that came back with more brilliant seasons to keep me somewhat occupied!

I haven’t included reality tv, animated shows or documentaries, only scripted episodic television to streamline my Top 2020 to just, well.. 20.

Continue reading “Top 20 of 2020: TV”

The Changeling – Victor LaValle

Synopsis: When Apollo Kagwa was just a child, his father disappeared, leaving him with recurring nightmares and a box labelled ‘Improbabilia’. Now a successful book dealer, Kagwa has a family of his own after meeting and falling in love with Emma, a librarian. The two marry and have a baby: so far so happy-ever-after.

However, as the pair settle into their new lives as parents, exhaustion and anxiety start to take their toll. Emma’s behaviour becomes increasingly erratic, until one day she commits an unthinkable act, setting Apollo on a wild and fantastical quest through a suddenly otherworldly New York, in search of a wife and child he no longer recognises.

Continue reading “The Changeling – Victor LaValle”

King of the Rising – Kacen Callender

Synopsis: A revolution has swept through the islands of Hans Lollik and former slave Loren Jannik has been chosen to lead the survivors in a bid to free the islands forever. But the rebels are running out of food, weapons and options. And as the Fjern inch closer to reclaiming Hans Lollik with every battle, Loren is faced with a choice that could shift the course of the revolution in their favor-or doom it to failure.

Continue reading “King of the Rising – Kacen Callender”

The Fires of Vengeance – Evan Winter

Synopsis: Desperate to delay an impending attack by the indigenous people of Xidda, Tau and his queen craft a dangerous plan. If Tau succeeds, the queen will have the time she needs to assemble her forces and launch an all-out assault on her own capital city, where her sister is being propped up as the ‘true’ Queen of the Omehi.

If the city can be taken, if Tsiora can reclaim her throne and reunite her people, then the Omehi might have a chance to survive the coming onslaught.

Continue reading “The Fires of Vengeance – Evan Winter”

Across the Green Grass Fields – Seanan McGuire

Releases: 01.12.2021.

Synopsis: Regan loves, and is loved, though her school-friend situation has become complicated, of late.

When she suddenly finds herself thrust through a doorway that asks her to “Be Sure” before swallowing her whole, Regan must learn to live in a world filled with centaurs, kelpies, and other magical equines―a world that expects its human visitors to step up and be heroes.

But after embracing her time with the herd, Regan discovers that not all forms of heroism are equal, and not all quests are as they seem…

Continue reading “Across the Green Grass Fields – Seanan McGuire”

Nophek Gloss – Essa Hansen

Synopsis: When a young man’s planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Children of Time.

Caiden’s planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

Continue reading “Nophek Gloss – Essa Hansen”